Posted by: Debrah Martin | March 4, 2015

Something to B.R.A.G. about …

As the title says … I’m so delighted to have been awarded an Indie B.R.A.G. Medallion for Patchwork Man I’m literally hopping about. And it looks so smart on the cover – don’t you just love a bit of bling?

 

PATCHWORK-MAN with BRAG medallion

 

But what does an award mean to an author – apart from something to brag about?

Writing is a solitary business. We think of the idea alone, we plot the story alone, we write the book alone and we agonise over whether it’s good enough alone – until the editor gets hold of it. Then we wring our hands in horror – alone – at the red ink over the page or those damn little notes onscreen. In fact the only time we’re not alone in writing is when we get feedback from our readers  – and even that is often hard to obtain. Many writers liken getting reviews to pulling teeth … So when you win an award it’s like birthday, Christmas and winning the lottery all rolled into one because finally it’s someone OFFICIALLY saying, “this books OK – in fact its more than OK, it’s downright brilliant!”

So here I am, writing my blog (alone) but saying to the readers who read it, the reviewers who reviewed it and the awarders who’ve awarded it something for me to B.R.A.G. about – THANKYOU – for assuring me I’m not alone in being delighted I wrote it. Cheers B.R.A.G. Medallion, and cheers Patchwork Man!

 

patchwork-pieces-3D

 

And another little bit of celebration next month as Patchwork Pieces is released on 13th April (and is already available on pre-order) to conclude the trilogy that Patchwork Man started; not forgetting Patchwork People in the middle. patchwork-people-3D

 

 

 

Go on, be just a little bit tempted to find out what I’m ranting on about …

 

 

 

Find out about all of my books on my websites:

www.debrahmartin.co.uk 

and

www.lily-stuart.co.uk

Or follow me on Twitter @Storytellerdeb

or find me on Facebook: facebook.com/DeborahMartin. Author

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

